2016.4.24 - Pope Francis on Love - Take 2

Rev. C. Jarrod Lies - Sun, Apr 24

Runtime: 00:09:54

Sermon Transcript

  1. “Love is patient, love is kind; love is not jealous or boastful; it is not arrogant or rude. Love does not insist on its own way, it is not irritable or resentful; it does not rejoice at wrong, but rejoices in the right. Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things” (1 Cor 13:4-7).
  2. Love is patient –Patience takes root when I recognize that other people also have a right to live in this world, just as they are. Love always has an aspect of deep compassion that leads to accepting the other person as part of this world, even when he or she acts differently than I would like.
  3. Love is kind. Refers to one who shows his goodness by his deeds. Love benefits and helps others… love is ever ready to be of assistance.
  4. Love is not jealous or envious. Envy … shows that we are not concerned for the happiness of others but only with our own well-being. True love values the other person’s achievements.
  5. Love is not boastful. Love is not haughty, pedantic or pushy. Those who love refrain from speaking too much about themselves… they do not need to be the center of attention. Love, on the other hand, is marked by humility. The inner logic of Christian love is …”whoever would be first among you must be your slave” (Mat 20:27.
  6. Love is not rude. Love is gentle and thoughtful and its words and gestures are pleasing …not impolite harsh, abrasive or rigid. Love is courteous: speaking words of comfort, strength, consolation, and encouragement.
  7. Love does not seek its own interest. Love rejects violent reactions, interior hostility and hidden irritations that sets us on edge. “My advice is never to let the day end without making peace in the family.”
  8. Love is not irritable or resentful. When annoyed, love returns a heartfelt blessing. [Resentment is a rust that erodes a relationship and grows with time.] The opposite of resentment is forgiveness. Love forgives.
  9. Love does not rejoice at wrong it rejoices in the right. Love sees values another’s abilities and good works and celebrates them. This is impossible for those who must always be comparing and competing, even with their spouse, so that they secretly rejoice in their failures.
  10. Love “bears all things”. This has to do with the use of the tongue. It means “holding one’s peace.” Married couples joined by love speak well of each other; they try to show their spouse’s good side, not their weakness and faults. In any event, they keep silent rather than speak ill of them.
  11. Love believes all things. Love trusts. It does not try to control, possess and dominate everything. It makes for sincerity and transparency. A family marked by loving trust helps its members to be themselves and spontaneously to reject deceit, falsehood, and lies.
  12. Love hopes all things. Love does not despair of the future. It realizes that God may well make crooked lines straight and draw some good from the evil we endure in this world.
  13. Love endures all things. Love never gives up, even in the darkest hour. Love does not yield to resentment, scorn for others or the desire to hurt or to gain some advantage. It shows a certain dogged heroism, a power to resist every negative current, an irrepressible commitment to goodness. The Christian ideal, especially in families, is a love that never gives up.

Recent Sermons

Presented by: Rev. C. Jarrod Lies
Presented by: Rev. C. Jarrod Lies
Presented by: Rev. C. Jarrod Lies
Presented by: Rev. C. Jarrod Lies
Presented by: Rev. C. Jarrod Lies

Not a member but want to receive sermons?